News MOMA Scholarship: Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship

MOMA Scholarship: Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship


MOMA Scholarship is an initiative of Ministry of Minority Affairs to provide financial assistance to students belonging to minority communities in India. The scholarship has been introduced for economically weaker sections of the society and thus, provides an opportunity to poor and meritorious students to pursue higher education.

In India, minority community refers to Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains. MOMA scholarship scheme is of three types named as Pre Matric, Post Matric and Merit-Cum means scholarship. The scheme is considered as a very noble step taken by the Ministry of Minority Affairs to provide satisfactory progress to the selected MOMA scholars.

Pre-Matric scholarship is given to students of class 1-10 and Post-Matric scholarship is for students of class 11, 12, UG, PG, and M.Phil. & Ph.D. courses. Selection of students is strictly merit based and thus, depends on their marks obtained in previous classes and the financial need of the students.

Details of MOMA Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship:

Ministry of Minority Affairs has introduced a scheme for students of Minority community, studying professional/vocational courses in any of the recognized Indian institute/college. The scholarship has been introduced specifically for students of financially weaker backgrounds those who wish to pursue their higher education and thus, offers these students a lifetime opportunity to avail financial assistance for their studies. Given to 20,000 students every year, MOMA Scholarship-Merit Cum Means Scholarship aims to support the meritorious students and is awarded through the state Governments/UTs to the different candidates within the regions of India. 30% scholarship is reserved for girls of each minority community in a State/UT.

MOMA Scholarship: Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship

The scheme is applicable to undergraduate and postgraduate courses like Engineering/ Architecture/ MBBS/ Medical & Para Medical Courses/ Veterinary Sc. & Animal Husbandry/ CA/CS/ ICWA/ Fashion Technology/ Design/ Pharmacy/ Law/ Management/MCA.

In order to be eligible for the scholarship, students must have secured 50% marks class 12 examination. Also, the applicants should have secured admission in the college/institution through competitive exam or through merit. For students seeking admission based on merit, they should have attained a minimum of 50% marks in their class 12 exams. The annual income of student/parent/guardian must not exceed the Rs. 2,50,000. Scholarship is given to a maximum of 2 members of a family and those who are already in receipt of any other scholarship are not eligible to apply for MOMA Scholarship.

Under the scheme, selected students are offered financial assistance including the course fees and maintenance allowance. The academic fees is directly given to the institutes and maintenance allowance is given to students directly. For hostlers maintenance allowance has been kept as Rs. 10,000 per year (for 10 months) and for day scholars, it is of Rs. 5000 per year. Selected students will be given Rs. 20,000 per annum as their course fees. Also, for students who have secured admission in Premier Institutions of India such as IITs & NITs, there is full reimbursement of their course/tuition fee along with the maintenance allowance, under the MOMA Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship Scheme.

The application date of MOMA scholarship has been extended to October 7, 2014. Giving preference to underprivileged students of minority groups, the scholarship offers an opportunity to the scholars to pursue their higher studies & thus excel in their educational career.

MOMA Scholarship: Merit-Cum Means Based Scholarship
General Contributor
Janice is a writer from Chicago, IL. She created the "simple living as told by me" newsletter with more than 12,000 subscribers about Living Better and is a founder of Seekyt.

Latest news

Japanese Owl Meaning and Symbolism

If you're wondering about the Japanese owl meaning and symbolism in Asian cultures, the Owl, along with Maneki Neko...

What Are the Signs of Depression in Women

Gender and depression have long been the scope of research in the field of emotional disorders; most authors believe...

Top 7 Superfoods for Men to Stay Young

Superfoods are generally regarded as targeted foods that provide the maximum nutritional benefit - thus these foods are nutritionally-dense...

Best Brain foods for Kids – Boost Brain Power and Keep Sharp

A child's brain is developing rapidly and if you want them to improve their performance in school and their...

7 of the Best Brain Foods for Studying

The foods that you eat can improve the functioning of your brain. Just like drugs, foods have amino acids,...

B12 Shots for Dogs – 10 Key Benefits

The end of 2010, my little dog -- a 7-pound Papillon -- became very stressed after a flood in...

Must read

Manage resources well through resource planning software

It is a desire of every enterprise to...

Safe Bunk Beds For Kids

Purchasing safe bunk beds for kids isn't...
- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you