HomeNewsWater Damage Restoration...

Water Damage Restoration Certification

Are you looking to obtain your water damage restoration certification? The Clean Trust, formerly known as the Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration (IICRC) is the certifying body for many different types of technicians, including the WRT, or Water Damage Restoration Technician certification.

In order to obtain the WRT certification, you must complete a course and pass the exam. This is a three day course that is 19 hours of class time plus the time to take the exam. The Clean Trust approved course is intended to provide basic education for prospective WRT’s and other interested parties in water damage restoration. The WRT course is also a prerequisite for other approved courses.

The WRT certification is just the basic level certification. There are many more advanced certifications which when obtained will result in more advanced work and the commensurate higher pay for the technician. Below are some examples of these advanced certifications and the requirements for each.

  • ASD – Applied Structural Drying. This course teaches the effective, efficient and timely drying of water damaged structures and contents. The WRT course is a prerequisite for this course. A combination WRT/ASD course is also offered.
  • AMRT – Applied Microbial Remediation Technician. This course covers mold and sewage remediation principles and procedures for those engaged in property restoration, property management, IEQ investigations and other related professions. Attendees learn the principles and procedures to remediate mold, sewage, and other microbiological contaminants. WRT certification is a prerequisite.

There are also advanced designations available that follow the WRT certification. They are:

  • Journeyman Water Restorer (JWR) – This advanced certification is available after 12 months active service in the industry after original certification date plus having these certifications:

• Carpet Cleaning Technician (CCT) OR Commercial Carpet Maintenance Technician (CCMT),
• Carpet Repair and Reinstallation Technician (RRT certification).

  • Master Water Restorer (MWR) – This advanced certification is available after a minimum of three years after original WRT certification plus obtaining these additional certifications:

• AMRT OR AMRS (Applied Microbial Remediation Specialist) AND
• HST (Health & Safety Technician)

As you can see, the additional certifications beyond WRT do require a fair amount of work. However, obtaining these certifications paves the way for a successful career in several different fields. The Water Damage Restoration Certification provides for many opportunities for career development.

Get notified whenever we post something new!


Create a website from scratch

Just drag and drop elements in a page to get started with Newspaper Theme.

Continue reading

Kidney Failure in Dogs, What you Need to Know

Kidney failure is a common problem in both cats and dogs usually associated with old age. It is a progressive and degenerative disease normally although there is an acute form. It is not common to catch the disease in...

How to Listen to Police Scanner Online

Interested in learning how to listen to police scanner online? Millions of people listen to police scanners online and on their mobile phones every day. What you’ll hear is real-time, live dialogue between various first responders and dispatchers. You’ll...

Sample Letter of Intent to Occupy

A sample letter of intent to occupy can be a very important document. There are times you are looking for a location to establish your business and you’ve just discovered the perfect one. However, there are a...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.